Presidency of Bosnia-Herzegovina

Alija Izetbegovic, Chairman

Born in Bosanski Samac on Aug. 8, 1925, Alija Izetbegovic obtained a degree in agronomy in 1960 and graduated from Sarajevo University law school. He was a legal advisor with various companies in Sarajevo.

Mr. Izetbegovic was elected President of the presidency of Bosnia-Herzegovina in 1990 and again in 1991. He continued to serve as President throughout the conflict following the breakup of the former Yugoslavia. Following the signing of the Dayton peace agreement in 1995 and subsequent voting in 1996, Mr. Izetbegovic was elected to the collective presidency and currently serves as Chairman.

Momcilo Krajisnik, Member

Born in Sarajevo on Jan. 20, 1945, Momcilo Krajisnik graduated from the School of Economy in Sarajevo with a master's degree. He worked with Energoinvest Company Sarajevo, from 1968 to 1991, first as the office services director and later as a vice president. In 1992, he was elected President of the National Assembly of the self-proclaimed Republika Srpska. In September 1996 elections, Mr. Krajisnik was elected a member of the collective presidency of Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Kresimir Zubak, Member

Born in the village of Prisada near Doboj on Nov. 29, 1947, Kresimir Zubak graduated from the University of Sarajevo law school and rose from deputy district attorney to president of a district court in Doboj.

From 1980 to 1984, Mr. Zubak was vice-secretary in the Bosnia-Herzegovina Ministry of Justice, and from 1984 to 1992, he was the president of the High Court in Doboj. In October 1992, Mr. Zubak was named Vice President of the self-proclaimed Croat Republic of Herzeg-Bosnia, and in 1994 he was appointed President. On May 31, 1994, Mr. Zubak became the first President of the Federation of Bosnia-Herzegovina. Following elections in September 1996, Mr. Zubak became a member of the collective presidency of Bosnia-Herzegovina.