AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF IRAQ AND THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND. CANADA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, THE UNION OF SOUTH AFRICA. INDIA AND PAKISTAN REGARDING WAR CEMETERIES, GRAVES AND MEMORIALS OF THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH IN IRAQ RESULTING FROM THE WAR OF 1939-1945.

The Government of Iraq of the one part: and

The Governments of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Union of South Africa, India and Pakistan (hereinafter referred to as "the Commonwealth countries") of the other part:

Desiring to extend the provisions of the Agreement signed at Baghdad on the 15th March, 1935,\* and of the accompanying Notes exchanged on the same date, relating to British War Cemeteries, Graves and Memorials in Iraqi territory resulting from the War of 1914-1918 (together hereinafter referred to as the Agreement of 1935) and

Desiring to modify in certain other respects the provisions of the Agreement of 1935:

Have agreed as follows:

## ARTICLE 1

(1) The provisions of the Agreement of 1935 shall, notwithstanding Article 1 thereof, extend and apply to the War Cemeteries, Graves and Memorials in Iraqi territory of the members of the Armed Forces of the Commonwealth countries fallen in the War of 1939-1945 and such provisions shall henceforth be read and construed accordingly.

## ARTICLE 2

Article 3 of the Agreement of 1935 shall cease to have effect and the following provisions shall be substituted in its place:

- (1) The Government of Iraq agree that the Commission shall be represented in Iraq by a Committee, named and composed as stated below, which shall be competent to perform in the name of the Commission, and within the limits of the powers which the Commission shall from time to time delegate to it, all civil acts necessary to enable it to fulfil its object.
- (2) The said Committee shall be called "The Commonwealth/Iraq Committee of the Imperial War Graves Commission" and shall be composed of the chief diplomatic representative for the time being in Iraq of the United Kingdom who shall be Chairman; the chief diplomatic representative for the time being in Iraq of any of the other Commonwealth countries; two members nominated from time to time by the Government of Iraq; and such other persons nominated from time to time to time by the Chairman in agreement with the Commission as may be necessary to bring the total number of members of the Committee, including the Chairman, to not less than eight.

<sup>\*</sup> Canada Treaty Series 1936, No. 8.