SECTION IV., 1910.

## III .- Place-Names in Northern Canada

## By JAMES WHITE, F.R.G.S.

## (Read 27th September 1910.)

The geographical limits of Northern Canada have been taken as including the present North-West Territories which contain the so-called "districts" of Ungava, Keewatin, Macken ie and Franklin and the territory of Yukon. In considering in the large, the derivations of the place-names in this area, it is convenient to divide them into two groups:

1.—The names of the Arctic islands of the Arctic coast of the mainland, and of the coasts of Hudson bay and strait.

What may be called the "inland" names, including practically all not in the first class.

Arctic and Hudson bay exploration in British North America can be divided into three periods of activity:—

- (a) From Frobisher's first voyage in 1576 to James' and Foxe's voyages in 1631.
  - (b) From Ross' voyage in 1818 to the Belcher expedition, 1852-54.
  - (c) From the Nares' expedition of 1875-76 to the present time.

The first period includes the explorations of Frobisher, Davis, Hall, Hudson, Button, Baffin, Munk, Foxe, James and others. Between the first and second period, there were occasional small expeditions in search of the North West passage, by way of the north-western portion of Hudson bay.

The Ross expedition of 1818, followed Baffin's track and verified the discoveries of Baffin, made over 200 years before and which had been expunged from the 18th century maps as unfounded. Following the extensive discoveries of Parry, 1819-25 and Franklin's, 1821 and 1826,, the Admiralty, in 1845, dispatched the famous, but ill-fated, Franklin expedition. When a year and a half had elapsed, a feeling of uneasiness manifested itself and, in the next thirty years, over forty expeditions were sent out from England and America to rescue the survivors or bring home the records of the lost expedition. As the nature of the

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The boundaries of these "districts" have been indicated in accordance with the Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897, except that a narrow strip lying between long. 100° W. and the eastern boundary of Saskatchewan has been included in Keewatin. As the Order in Council was contingent upon subsequent legislation, and as the legislation was never had, these divisions never had any legal status.