In accordance with a resolution of the Senate, March 19, 1889, the Arts work was inaugurated at the beginning of the College year of 1890-91.

The Senate at its meetings of March 20 and May 16, decided that sixteen Chairs of Instruction be established in Arts and Theology, and that the Lectures upon the subjects of these chairs be delivered by a staff of twelve Professors. The Chairs of Instruction in Arts and Theology, are, in the order of their institution, as follows:

## Chairs in Arts.

- 1. Philosophy, Psychology, and Logic.
- 2. History.
- 3. Hebrew and Cognate Languages.
- 4. Science of Education, Ethics and Civil Polity.
- 5. Mathematics and Physics.
- 6. Latin and Greek Languages and Literatures.
- 7. Modern Languages and Literatures.
- 8. English Language and Literature.
- 9. Natural Sciences.
- 10. Apologetics and Evidences of Christianity.
- 11. Biblical Theology and English Bible.

## Chairs in Theology.

- 1. Systematic Theology.
- 2. Historical Theology.
- 3. Old Testament Exegesis (Hebrew and Aramaic).
- 4. New Testament and Patristic Greek.
- 5. Homiletics, Pastoral Theology and Church Polity.
- 6. Apologetics and Evidences of Christianity.
- 7. Biblical Theology and English Bible.