Illinois is divided into ewenty Districts, which are practically identical with the Congressional Districts of the State, with presidents in the order named: Mrs. Theo. Basset, Grand Crossing; Mrs. M. A. Gordon, Chicago; Mrs. H. I. Clarke, Chicago; Mrs. T. C. Reiley, Evanston; Miss Emma Norton, Marengo; Miss M. Lena Morrow, Freeport; Mrs. E. E. Reed, Geneseo; Mrs. V. M. Taxis, Gardner; Miss Lucy P. Gaston, Lacon; Mrs. Elizabeth G. Hibben, Peoria; Miss Emma Bell, Warsaw; Mrs. Wm. P. Kuhl, Beardstown; Mrs. Don. R. Frazer, (pro tem.), Springfield; Miss Margaret Crissey, Decatur; Mrs. Kate Goldman, Newman; Miss M. C. Brehm, Claremont; Mrs. Clara F. Gould, Windsor; Mrs. M. K. West, Edwardsville; Mrs. M. C. Board, Harrisburg; Mrs. M. A. Phillips, Carbondale.

Again, there are County Organizations, with their presidents, the counties being divided into auxilliaries. As reported at the last convention, which met in October, 1892, at Danville, there were 800 Unions in the State, and a membership of 16,000, Illinois standing third in rank in the United States, New York holding first and Ohio second place.

The various Departments of work are placed in charge of Superintendents, who report at the annual convention the results of their labors, and encouraging indeed are these statements of progress, as made by the earnest women who are identified with this good cause.

The Chicago Central Union may be mentioned, in this connection, as doing a noble work through its several Missions. From twenty-five to thirty children are cared for daily at the nursery of the Bethesda Mission, which has also a free kindergarten with a regular attendance of about forty pupils. Sunday School is held at this Mission and is well attended, as are also the evening meetings at the same place. Hope Mission and reading-room, for Scandinavians, sustrins a gospel temperance meeting every evening, and Sunday-school every Sunday, at which latter gathering about eight thousand children have been present during the past year. Anchorage Mission, for Women,

has
same
garte
datee
the p
cago
Soo,
This
Flow
larly

ance

elected delegatend sixty was or New

Bloom

Presid Mills, C. A. Thoma Depart intende

> Pr Ba

Bloom