## YEAS Messrs:

Aiken
Aitken, Miss
Anderson
Asselin
Balcer
Baldwin
Barrington
Baskin
Bell (Carleton)
Bell (Saint John-Albert)
Belzile

Belzile
Bigg
Bissonnette
Bourbonnais
Bourdages
Brooks
Broome
Browne (Vancouver-

Kingsway)
Bruchesi
Brunsden
Campbell
(Lambton-Kent)
Campbell (Stormont)

Campeau
Cardiff
Casselman, Mrs.
Chambers
Charlton
Chown
Churchill
Clancy

Comtois
Cooper
Creaghan
Crouse
Danforth
Dinsdale
Dorion
Doucett
Drouin

Drysdale Dubois English Fairfield Fane Fleming (Eglinton) Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke)

Forbes
Fulton
Grafftey
Green
Grills
Gundlock
Hales

Halpenny

Hamilton (Notre Dame de Grace) Hamilton (Qu'Appelle)

Hamilton (Qu'App Hambidge Harkness Henderson Hicks Hodgson Horner (Acadia) Howe Johnson Jones Jorgenson

Jung
Kennedy
Kindt
Knowles
Lafreniere
Lahaye
Lambert

Latour
Legere
Lennard
Letourneau
Macdonald (Kings)
Macdonnell
MacInnis

MacLean (Queens)
MacLean (Winnipeg)
North Centre)
MacLellan
Macquarrie
MacRae
McBain
McDonald
(Hamilton South)
McFarlane

McIntosh

McLennan
McPhillips
McQuillan
Maloney
Mandziuk
Martineau
Martini
Matthews
Milligan
Monteith (Perth)
Montgomery
Morissette
Morris
Morton

Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Nielsen Noble Nugent O'Hurley O'Leary Pallett Parizeau Pascoe Paul Payne Pearkes Phillips Pigeon Pugh

Rapp

Regnier Richard (Kamouraska) Rogers Rompre Sevigny Simpson Skoreyko Slogan Smallwood Smith (Calgary South) Smith (Lincoln)

Smith (Winnipeg North)

Southam Speakman Spencer Stanton Starr Stefanson Stewart Tassé Thompson Tremblay Villeneuve Walker Webb Webster Weichel

Wratten-147.

Division NAYS

Messrs:

Argue Hellyer
Badanai Herridge
Batten Leduc
Benidickson McMillan
Boivin McWilliam
Boulanger Martin (Essex East)

Bourget Martin (Timmins)
Brassard (Lapointe) Meunier
Caron Mitchell
Chevrier Peters
Crestohl Pickersgill
Deschatelets Ratelle
Dumas Regier
Eudes Richard (St. Maurice-

EudesRichard (SForgieLafleche)GarlandRobichaudGrangerRouleauHabelWinch—35.

And the house having resumed in committee:

On clause 2—Definitions.

Mr. Deschatelets: Mr. Chairman, the Minister of Finance has stated most emphatically at least twice in the house, namely on September 6, 1958 and again on March 18, 1960, that the federal government is not intervening in the provincial field when it makes university grants. Having this in mind, I was very surprised, to say the least, at certain terms and aspects of clause 2 of Bill No. C-56 as introduced by the Minister of Finance. I refer specifically to the word "satisfactory" in line 16 on page 2 and to the words "in the opinion of the minister" in line 17 on page 2.

If we read these words carefully in the context of clause 2 we find here a prima facie case of clear infringement and encroachment on the economy of the province. During the debate on second reading we on this side of the house repeatedly brought this matter to the attention of the Minister of Finance and outlined the constitutional dangers of these terms as far as the autonomy of the province is concerned. Moreover, if we refer to the speeches delivered by our friends opposite it is evident that most of them share our views with respect to this particular matter. As found on page 3309 of Hansard of April 26, the hon. member for Bellechasse had this to say:

## (Translation):

While the Minister of Finance has the right to satisfy himself that the arrangements reached between the provinces and their universities are truly consistent with the requirements of the act—

I say that in recognizing this right, the hon. member for Bellechasse (Mr. Dorion) accepts unwarranted interferences, on the part of the Minister of Finance, in a field which is outside his jurisdiction.