CANADIAN REPRESENTATION AT INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCES

Standing International Bodies on Which Canada is Represented

(Published annually; this listing as of December 1953. Date of establishment of each body given in brackets)

1. CANADA-UNITED STATES

- 1. International Joint Commission (1909) Canadian Section: Chairman: Gen. A. G. L. McNaughton; Commissioners: J. L. Dansereau and G. Spence.
- 2. International Boundary Commission (1912). J. E. R. Ross, Dominion Geodesist, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.
- 3. Permanent Joint Board on Defence (1940). Canadian Section: Gen. A. G. L. Mc-Naughton; Rear-Admiral W. B. Creery, Vice-Chief of the Naval Staff; Maj. Gen. H. A. Sparling, Vice-Chief of the General Staff; Air Vice-Marshal F. R. Miller, Vice-Chief of the Air Staff; R. A. MacKay, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; Secretary: W. H. Barton, Department of External Affairs.
- 4. United States-Canada Joint Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs. Canadian

- Section: The terms of reference specify the Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Ministers of Finance and Trade and Commerce and either the Minister of Agriculture or the Minister of Fisheries.
- 5. Joint United States-Canada Industrial Mobilization Committee (1949). Canadian Section: C. D. Howe, Minister of Trade and Commerce and Defence Production.
- 6. International Pacific Halibut Commission (1935). G. R. Clark, Assistant Deputy Minister of Fisheries; Richard Nelson, Vancouver; Harold S. Helland, Prince Rupert.
- 7. International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission (1947). Senator T. Reid; H. R. MacMillan, Vancouver; A. J. Whitmore, Department of Fisheries.

2. CANADA-UNITED KINGDOM

1. Canada - United Kingdom Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Af-fairs (1948). W. F. Bull, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce; Dr. J. C. Taggart, Deputy Minister of Agriculture; J. J. Deutsch, Department of Finance;

H. H. Wrong, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs. (N. A. Robertson, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom is Chairman of the Committee when it meets in London).

3. COMMONWEALTH OF NATIONS

- 1. Commonwealth Shipping Committee (1920). N. A. Robertson, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 2. Commonwealth Economic Committee (1925). F. Hudd and D. A. B. Marshall, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 3. Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux (1928). Executive Council: J. G. Robertson, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 4. Commonwealth Telecommunications Board (1948). J. H. Tudhope, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 5. Commonwealth Air Transport Council (1945). J. H. Tudhope, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
 - i. Committee on Navigation and Ground Organization. F. Hudd, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the

United Kingdom, London.

- Commonwealth Advisory Aeronautical Research Council (1947). A/V/M D. M. Smith, J. H. Parkin and Dr. J. J. Green, Department of National Defence; R. J. Brearley, Office of the High Commis-sioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 7. Commonwealth Liaison Committee (1948). L. Couillard and J. Grandy, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 8. Imperial War Graves Commission. N. A. Robertson, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 9. Imperial Institute (1888). N. A. Robertson, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.
- 10. Commonwealth Committee on Mineral Resources and Geology. Dr. G. S. Hume, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.

37