

# PRESS RELEASE

# INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

NO. 60

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 16, 1950.

The Secretary of State for External Affairs today announced the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Fifth Regular Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations. The Assembly is scheduled to open in New York on September 19.

The Delegation will be composed as follows:

#### Representatives

The Honourable L. B. Pearson, M.P. - Secretary of State for External Affairs, Chairman of the Delegation.

The Honourable Hugues Lapointe, M.P. - Minister of Veterans Affairs, Vice-Chairman of the Delegation.

The Honourable J. G. Turgeon

Jean Lesage, M.P.

John Dickey, M.P.

# Alternate Representatives

A. D. P. Heeney, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Leon Mayrand, Assistant Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.

R. G. Riddell, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations.

C. Fraser Elliott, Canadian Ambassador to Chile.

Mrs. D. E. Sinclair, Department of National Health and Welfare.

# Parliamentary Advisers

Gordon Graydon, M.P.

Another member of the official Parliamentary Opposition (to be designated later).

M. J. Coldwell, M.P.

Solon Low, M.P.

## <u>Advisers</u>

Appropriate advisers from the Department of External Affairs and other Departments of Government will be appointed to the Delegation at such time and for such periods as their services may be required.