Of the Hon. Sir Louis Henry Davies, K.C.M.G., Member for the Electoral District of Queen's West, P.E.I., by the acceptance of the office of Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada;

Of Nathaniel Clarke Wallace, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of the West

Riding of the County of York, by decease;

Of the Hon. James Sutherland, Member for the Electoral District of the North Riding of the County of Oxford, by the acceptance of an office of emolument under the Crown;

Of the Hon. R. R. Dobell, Member for the Electoral District of Quebec West, by

decease, and

Of Henry George Carroll, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Kamouraska, by the acceptance of an office of emolument under the Crown, to wit: the office of Solicitor General of Canada.

And that he had issued his several warrants to the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery

to make out new Writs of Election for the said Electoral Districts respectively.

Mr. Speaker further informed the House that, during the Recess, the Clerk of the House had received from the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery, Certificates of the Election and Return of the following Members, viz.:—

Of Alexander Gibson, Junior, Esq., for the Electoral District of York, N.B.;

Of Henri Sévérin Béland, Esq., for the Electoral District of Beauce;

Of Robert Beith, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of the County of Durham;

Of Onésiphore Carbonneau, Esq., for the Electoral District of L'Islet;

Of William Harty, Esq., for the Electoral District of Kingston:

Of Edward Guss Porter, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of the County of Hastings;

Of Archibald Campbell, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of the

County of York, Ontario;

Of Melzar Avery, Esq., for the Electoral District of Addington; Of J. E. Emile Leonard, Esq., for the Electoral District of Laval;

Of Hon. James Sutherland, for the Electoral District of the North Riding of the County of Oxford;

Of Joseph Brunet, Esq., for the Electoral District of Montreal (St. James);

Of Donald Farquharson, Esq., for the Electoral District of Queen's West, P.E.I., and

Of William Power, Esq., for the Electoral District of Quebec West.

The following Members, having previously taken the Oath according to Law, and subscribed the Roll containing the same, took their seats in the House:—

Hon. James Sutherland, for the Electoral District of the North Riding of Oxford; Donald Farquharson, Esq., for the Electoral District of Queen's West, P.E.I.; Archibald Campbell, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of York, tario;

Alexander Gibson, Junior, Esq., for the Electoral District of York, N.B.;

Henri Sévérin Béland, Esq., for the Electoral District of Beauce;

J. E. Emile Leonard, Esq., for the Electoral District of Laval; Onésiphore Carbonneau, Esq., for the Electoral District of L'Islet;

Edward Guss Porter, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of the County of Hastings;

Joseph Brunet, Esq., for the Electoral District of Montreal (St. James);

Melzar Avery, Esq., for the Electoral District of Addington; and

Robert Beith, Esq., for the Electoral District of the West Riding of the County of Durham.

Sir Wilfred Laurier introduced a Bill No. 1 respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office; which was read the first time.