Division

subject matter is different from that to which he has just referred.

Mr. McQuaid: Mr. Speaker, in view of the fact that Bill C-244 has not been brought back to this House by the government, I move, seconded by the hon, member for St. John's East (Mr. McGrath):

That this House do now adjourn.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The hon. member no doubt realizes that such a motion cannot be moved twice in the same day. That motion has already been moved, put and negatived and it cannot be put a second time.

Mr. McQuaid: Mr. Speaker, I meant the motion to be:

That this debate do now adjourn.

Mr. Speaker: That is not the motion the Chair heard the hon. member put. A motion that the debate do now adjourn is a different motion, which the hon. member has a right to put. I think the hon, member will realize that he cannot put the motion that the House do now adjourn. If he will correct the motion, it will be put to the House.

Mr. McQuaid: Mr. Speaker, I do not have the motion written out.

Mr. Speaker: If the hon, member will write out the motion and submit it to the Chair, it will be put. No motion may be put to the House unless it is written and submitted in proper form to the Chair. I will wait for the hon, member to prepare his motion and submit it.

Mr. McQuaid: Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the hon, member for St. John's East:

That this debate do now adjourn.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion? All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. McQuaid) which was negatived on the following division:

• (3:50 p.m.)

YEAS

Messrs .

Aiken Alexander Alkenbrack Bigg Cadieu Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Downey Fairweather Forrestall Hales Harkness Hees Howe Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond)

MacKay

MacLean

Reer

Blair

Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McGrath McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Mazankowski Monteith Moore Muir Murta Nesbitt Nowlan Ricard Ritchie Schumacher Scott Southam Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Thompson (Red Deer) Woolliams

NAYS

Yewchuk-47.

Messrs:

Forest Allmand Forget Anderson Fortin Andras Foster Badanad Francis Barnett Gauthier Barrett Gendron Basford Gervais Béchard Gibson Gilbert Benjamin Gillespie Benson Godin Blackburn Goode Groos Borrie Breau Brewin Guilbault Buchanan Haidasz Burton Harding Caccia Hopkins Cafik Howard Cantin Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome

Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corbin Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Cullen Davis Deachman Douglas Drury Dubé Dupras Duquet Émard

Faulkner

Guay (Saint-Boniface) Guay (Lévis)

(Okanagan Boundary) Howard (Skeena)

Kierans Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lachance Laflamme

Laing (Vancouver South) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Laniel La Salle Latulippe Legault

Lessard (LaSalle)