Department Staff

The senior public servants in the Department are the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Deputy Minister for International Trade.

Overall responsibility for management of the Department belongs to the Executive Committee. It is chaired by the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs or, in his absence, the Deputy Minister for International Trade. The Deputies, all ADMs and the Legal Advisor are members of the Committee.

The committee provides corporate policy direction, sets program priorities and resource allocation, and is a forum for high-level co-ordination.

Each of the members of Executive Committee has responsibility for a group of bureaus — the Department's key organizational unit.