

The Canadian Institute for International Peace and Security was created by an act of the Parliament of Canada in 1984 to increase knowledge and understanding of the issues relating to international peace and security from a Canadian perspective. The Institute does not advocate policy positions, nor is it part of the government decision-making apparatus. The Institute is a Crown Corporation. Members of its Board of Directors were appointed by the Government of Canada after consultation with all recognized parties in the House of Commons. These provisions help to ensure the independence of the Institute.

Executive Director:Geoffrey Pearson

Board of Directors:

William Barton, Chairman Lise Bissonnette David Braide Orest Cochkanoff Gisèle Côté-Harper Ann Gertler Edward Greene John Halstead Kal Holsti Jacques Lévesque Richard Mercier Judith Padua Geoffrey Pearson Harry A. Porter Mary Simon Brian Urquhart Jean-Guy Vaillancourt



Canadian Institute for International Peace and Security

360 Albert Street, Suite 900 Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X7 (613) 990-1593 fax (613) 563-0894