bers that it became difficult to carry on the Government, and a deadlock occurred. On the proposal of Hon. George Brown a Coalition Ministry was formed, and an agitation for Confederation

was begun.

A conference met at Charlottetown in 1864, to discuss the question. Another met the same year at Quebec, and a scheme for union was drawn up. The Parliaments of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia agreed to it, in 1865, and in 1866 a suitable bill was drawn up by the Canadian delegates then in London. In 1867, it was passed by the British Parliament under the name of the 'British North America Act," and came into force on July 1st, which has since been called "Dominion Day." The measure was bitterly opposed by the people of Nova Scotia.

5. The British North America Act, the formal constitution of the Dominion of Canada and its provinces, was passed by the British Parlia-

ment in 1867.

(See special note in chap. X.).

Its chief provisions were:

(1) The four provinces, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were united under one Federal Government, and were to be called the Dominion of Canada.

(2) The Federal Government was to have control of all matters pertaining to the whole country.

(3) Each province was to have a Local Government having control of all purely local affairs.

(4) The different parts of each of these Governments, and the duties and powers of each, were stated.