THE FORM OF CANADIAN HISTORY.

This diagram on the opposite page, which shows the historical courses of the provinces, and how they ran together to form the Dominion, was first published by the author in the Educational Journal, Toronto, 1895.

EXPLANATION: -A blue line means French sovereignty; a red line, British sovereignty. Canada was under the French from 1608 to 1763; it then came under British rule, and ran down to 1791, when it divided into two separate provinces, -Lower Canada and Upper Canada. These provinces ran independent courses down to 1841, when they reunited, and Canada, as one province, ran down to 1867. Nova Scotia was under the French from 1605 to 1713, when it became British, and, as a British province, ran down to 1867. New Brunswick, in 1784, separated from Nova Scotia, and ran a provincial course down to 1867. In 1867, the three provinces—Canada, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia ran together and formed a new state, the Dominion. Then the Dominion began an onward course. In 1770 Prince Edward Island separated from Nova Scotia, ran a provincial course down to 1873, and then joined the Dominion. Manitoba began in 1811, ran down to 1870, and joined the Dominion. British Columbia began in 1843, ran down to 1871, and joined the Dominion.