cited as the British North America Act, united the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick under the name of the Dominion of Canada, provided constitutions of government for the Dominion and the several Provinces, and prescribed the conditions under which Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territory might thereafter be admitted to the confederacy or union so created.

Since 1867, all the British possessions on the continent of North America to the north of the United States, and all the islands adjacent to such possessions, except Newfoundland and Labrador, have been included within the Dominion of Canada.

The Constitution of the Dominion has taken from the United States her modification of the federative principle. Like the United States, Canada has local government in the different provinces, and a general federal government with authority over the entire Dominion, whose jurisdiction depends upon the subject-matter, and not upon local boundaries, and whose legislative, executive and judicial powers operate directly upon the citizen. As in the United States, the central and the local powers are kept each within its own domain by the authority of a supreme judiciary.

While many things which we think essential to self-government and to the due security of personal and individual rights are not enjoyed by the people of Canada, in one most important respect the will of her people takes effect in legislation more directly and effectively than does that of the people of the United States. The British North America Act was passed after our Civil War. Its authors conceived that they had so thoroughly studied our system as to be able to avoid its defects. The theory of the Constitution of Canada, if that term may properly be applied to an act of legislation which may be at any time revoked or altered at the pleasure of the Legislature which enacted it, is that the power of the Queen and Parliament of Great Britain over Canada is sov-