- (f) Consulates General in: Bordeaux, Boston, Chicago, Düsseldorf,
 Hamburg, Los Angeles, Manila, Marseilles, Milan, New Orleans,
 New York, San Francisco, Seattle;
- (g) Consulates in: Cleveland, Dallas, Detroit, Philadelphia, San Juan, São Paulo;
- (h) Honorary Consulate-General in: Reykjavik;
 - (i) Military Mission in: Berlin;
 - (j) Canadian Permanent Missions to: United Nations (New York and Geneva);
 - (k) Canadian Permanent Delegations to: North Atlantic Council (Brussels), UNESCO, OECD (Paris);
 - (1) Canadian Delegation to: Conference of the Eighteen-Nation Committee on Disarmament (Geneva);
 - (m) <u>Canadian Commissioners on:</u> International Supervisory Commissions for Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam;
 - (n) Canadian Mission (resident in Brussels) to the European Communities: EEC, EAEC, ECSC.

Functions of the Department

The main functions of the Department of External Affairs are:

- (a) The supervision of relations between Canada and other countries and of Canadian participation in international organizations; the protection of Canadian interests abroad;
- (b) the collation and weighing of information regarding developments likely to affect Canada's international relations;
- (c) correspondence with other governments and their representatives in Canada;
- (d) the negotiation and conclusion of treaties and other international agreements;
- (e) the representation of Canada in foreign capitals and at international conferences.

Departmental Organization in Ottawa (1)

The headquarters of the Department in Ottawa is the East Block of the Parliament Buildings.

The staff is headed by an Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, with a Deputy and four Assistant Under-Secretaries. These are assisted by three groups of officers of various ranks classified by the Public Service Commission

⁽¹⁾ See appended chart.