AGREEMENT ON COOPERATION ON AERONAUTICAL AND MARITIME SEARCH AND RESCUE IN THE ARCTIC

The Government of Canada, the Government of the Kingdom of Denmark, the Government of the Republic of Finland, the Government of Iceland, the Government of the Kingdom of Norway, the Government of the Russian Federation, the Government of the Kingdom of Sweden, and the Government of the United States of America, hereinafter referred to as "the Parties",

Taking into account the relevant provisions of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

Being Parties to the 1979 International Convention on Maritime Search and Rescue, hereinafter referred to as "the SAR Convention", and the 1944 Convention on International Civil Aviation, hereinafter referred to as "the Chicago Convention",

Noting the International Aeronautical and Maritime Search and Rescue Manual, hereinafter referred to as "the IAMSAR Manual",

Recalling the 1996 Ottawa Declaration on the Establishment of the Arctic Council,

Highlighting the 2009 Tromsø Declaration on the occasion of the Sixth Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council, which approved the establishment of a task force to develop and complete negotiation of an international instrument on cooperation on search and rescue operations in the Arctic,

Conscious of the challenges posed by harsh Arctic conditions on search and rescue operations and the vital importance of providing rapid assistance to persons in distress in such conditions,

Mindful of the increase in aeronautical and maritime traffic and other human activity in the Arctic, including activity of Arctic residents and of people coming to the Arctic,