PREFACE

This report brings together the mandates governing External Affairs' action on international status of women issues.

It has been produced:

- <u>a</u> to explain the substance of the government's priority on international aspects of equality for women;
- b to facilitate access to the documents which guide the Department's work to institutionalize status of women concerns in multilateral economic and social programming and in the operational activities of development organisations.

These mandates provide the basic framework for the integration of status of women considerations into the international issues/organizations which fall within the competence of the following divisions:

EEA: Economic Relations with Developing Countries Division

EEE: Energy and Environment Division

EEF: International Financial and Investment Affairs Division

EER: International Economic Relations Division

GGBS: Southern Africa Task Force

GMR: Middle East Relations Division

IDA: Arms Control and Disarmament Division

IFX: Summit and Francophone Affairs

IMC: Commonwealth Division

IMH: Human Rights and Social Affairs Division

IMU: United Nations Affairs Division

JLO: Legal Operations Division

LSR: South America Relations Division

LGX: Permanent Observer to the Organization of American

States

TTS: Science, Technology and Communications Division