The Community operates six "European Schools" for the children of its civil servants. Their curriculum is designed to prepare students for life in a multinational Community. Each child studies his or her mother tongue and a second Community language. The national bias has been removed from subjects such as history. A diploma from a European School admits the graduate to universities in Community countries, and to some universities in other countries.

No final decision has been made on the Community's permanent headquarters. The Commission's administrative centre is Brussels, but its statistical office, financial services and document sales office, and the Court of Justice, are in Luxembourg. The Council of Ministers meets in Brussels, except in April, June and October, when its meets in Luxembourg; its Secretariat is in Brussels. The European Parliament meets in Strasbourg and Luxembourg, the site of its Secretariat. The Economic and Social Committee meets in Brussels.

An aerial view of the Commission headquarters (centre) in Brussels and the building (upper left) where the Council of Ministers meets.

