The school system of the Yukon is administered by the territorial department of education. Even though legislation recognizes three types of school (public, separate, and Indian), closure of the last Indian school in 1969 meant that all students attend public or separate schools.

Yukon education follows the British Columbia pattern of school organization and curriculum.

In 1969, responsibility for education in the Northwest Territories was transferred from the federal Department of Indian and Northern Affairs to the territorial council. The region has developed its own curriculum covering six elementary and four secondary grades.

While education in the Northwest Territories is generally administered by the territorial department of education, local school boards with a measure of autonomy do exist in the urban areas of Yellowknife and Hay River.

High schools in the Northwest Territories are located only in the larger communities; residential facilities are provided for students from outside the community.

For both the Yukon and Northwest Territories, aid programs exist for students who wish to continue their education at post-secondary institutions in another part of the country.

service and the service of the servi