

Prime Minister of Canada, Mr Brian Mulroney

NEW CANADIAN FEDERAL CABINE

The Government of Prime Minister Brian Mulroney was re-elected in the general election of November 21, 1988. Mr Mulroney is the leader of the Progressive Conservative Party, which won 168 of the 295 seats in the House of Commons. The Liberal Party, led by Mr John Turner, won 83 seats, while the New Democratic Party, headed by Mr Edward Broadbent, won 43 seats. There is one vacancy, following the sudden death of a member a few days after the election.

On January 30, 1989, Prime Minister Mulroney announced the membership of Canada's new Federal Cabinet. They are, in order of precedence:

- 1. Brian Mulroney, Prime Minister
- 2. Joe Clark, External Affaairs
- 3. John Crosbie, International Trade
- 4. Don Mazankowski, Deputy Prime Minister; Agriculture; President of Queen's Privy Council
- Elmer MacKay, Public Works; Minister for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
- 6. Jake Epp, Energy, Mines and Resources

- 7. Robert de Cotret, Treasury Board
- 8. Perrin Beatty, Health and Welfare
- 9. Michael Wilson, Finance
- 10. Harvie Andre, Regional Industrial Expansion; Minister of State (Science and Technology)
- 11. Otto Jelinek, National Revenue
- 12. Tom Siddon, Fisheries and Oceans
- Charles Mayer, Western Economic Diversification; Minister of State (Grains and Oilseeds)
- 14. Bill McKnight, Defence
- 15. Benoit Bouchard, Transport
- 16. Marcel Masse, Communications
- 17. Barbara McDougall, Employment and Immigration
- 18. Gerald Merrithew, Veterans Affairs
- 19. Monique Vezina, Minister of State (Employment and Immigration); Minister of State (Seniors)
- 20. Frank Oberle, Minister of State (Forestry)
- 21. Lowell Murray, Government Leader in the Senate; Minister of State (Federal-Provincial Relations)
- 22. Paul Dick, Supply and Services
- 23. Pierre Cadieux, Indian Affairs and Northern Development
- 24. Jean Charest, Minister of State (Youth); Minister of State (Fitness and Amateur Sports); Deputy Leader of the Government in the Commons
- 25. Tom Hockin, Minister of State (Small Businesses and Tourism)
- 26. Monique Landry, External Relations
- 27. Bernard Valcourt, Consumer and Corporate Affairs
- 28. Gerry Weiner, Secretary of State; Minister of State (Multiculturalism and Citizenship)
- 29. Doug Lewis, Justice; Attorney General; Leader of the Government in the Commons
- 30. Pierre Blais, Solicitor General; Minister of State (Agriculture)
- 31. Lucien Bouchard, Environment
- 32. John McDermid, Minister of State (Privatization and Regulatory Affairs)
- 33. Shirley Martin, Minister of State (Transport)
- 34. Mary Collins, Associate Defence Minister
- 35. Alan Redway, Minister of State (Housing)
- 36. William Winegard, Minister of State (Science and Technology)
- 37. Kim Campbell, Minister of State (Indian Affairs and Northern Development)
- 38. Jean Corbeil, Labor
- 39. Gilles Loiselle, Minister of State (Finance)

DEVELOPMENT

Canada Sponsors Bookbinding Workshop

The Canadian High Commission in Malaysia has contributed more than \$17,000 to the Syarikat Kerjasama Serbaguna Kaum Ibu, a cooperative run entirely by women in the village of Lubuk Batu in Kedah State. The Canada Fund contribution will enable the cooperative to purchase equipment to establish a bookbinding workshop.

Until now, the cooperative had concentrated on agricultural projects complementary to its rural setting, such as cattle breeding, tobacco farming and rice cultivation.

The cooperative's first bookbinding contract is

with the Universiti Utara Malaysia, which will involve a working group of 20 women.

The contribution will also facilitate the printing of handbooks on operating bookbinding workshops and managing small businesses.

The project offers an opportunity not only to supplement farming income, but also provide skills development to both young people and mothers.

High Commissioner Garrett Lambert presenting the Canada Fund contribution to Puan Barishah Saad, Chairperson of the Syarikat Serbaguna Kaum Ibu cooperative