Supply

their constituents. If Members feel they have to vote against that opinion, they are fully entitled to do so. I have done it and gotten in a lot of trouble with my constituents on more than one occasion. However, they must make up their own minds. They cannot have it both ways, as I said.

I suggest to Members that they opt for service first and allow Canada Post to be innovative, even if it infringes on territory which the private sector thinks it is entitled to. Tough cookie. There are services the Post Office can provide at the same or less cost than that at which the private sector is presently ripping off consumers. There is a wide variety of things the Post Office can be doing in conjunction with mail delivery.

There is nothing more meaningful than the mail to individual Canadians. Whether they open their mailbox on a daily basis or three times a week, whether it is flown in or comes in on horseback, it is personal. Every person in Canada is affected by the quality and frequency of mail service. People in rural Canada do not expect daily door-to-door delivery in every village and every farm. They never have and they have not asked for it. They do expect some equity of service and surely that has to take priority over self-sufficiency.

Whether the Post Office deficit is \$100 million or \$500 million in a given year, give the people of Canada the service and they will agree to share the deficit. It is called a cooperative commonwealth. It is called a new democracy. It is called co-operative federalism.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Order. It being 5.45 p.m. it is my duty to interrupt these proceedings and put every question necessary to dispose of the supply proceedings now before the House under the provisions of Standing Order 82(9). The question is the following one. Mr. Keeper, seconded by Mr. Riis, moved:

That this House urge the Government to require Canada Post to forgo the 2 cent postal rate increase planned for the new year, to reject the planned closure of hundreds of rural post offices, to reconsider the decision to replace door to door postal delivery in new suburban areas with reductions in urban postal services, and furthermore, that the adoption of this motion shall not be considered to be a question of confidence in the government.

All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Keeper), which was negatived on the following division:

• (1750)

Allmand

Axworthy

Benjamin

Blaikie

Boudria

Copps

de Jong

Dingwall

Finestone

Foster

Garneau

Gauthier

Frith

Nipigon)

Broadbent

(Division No. 37)

YEAS

Members

Epp (Thunder Bay-Gray (Windsor West)

Grondin Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Heap Hopkins Hovdebo Kaplan Keeper Langdon MacLellan Malépart McCurdy McDonald (Broadview Greenwood) Mitchell Murphy Nicholson (Trinity)

Nunziata Nystrom Orlikow Parry Penner Prud'homme Riis Robichaud Robinson Rodriguez Roman Rompkey Skelly Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Waddell-46

NAYS

Members

Edwards

Andre Attewell Belsher Bertrand Binns Bissonnette Blackburn (Jonquière) Blais Blenkarn Blouin Bosley Bouchard Bourgault Brisco Browes Cadieux Cardiff Champagne (Champlain) Clark (Yellowhead) Clinch Cochrane Collins Comeau Cossitt Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Côté (Langelier) Crofton Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Darling Daubney Domm Dorin

Ellis Fennell Ferland Fontaine Fraleigh Fretz Gagnon Gass Gérin Gervais Girard Gormley Gottselig Graham Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hardey Hawkes Hicks Hnatyshyn Holtmann Howie Jacques James Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joncas Kelleher Kilgour King Ladouceur Landry La Salle Lawrence Lavton Lewis

Lopez MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) Malone Mantha Martin Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McCuish McDermid McKenzie McKinnon McKnight Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Oostrom Peterson Pietz Porter Price Redway Reid Ricard St. Germain Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Shields Siddon Sparrov Stackhouse Stevens Stewart