## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

Since the Special Committee on Indian Self-Government began its work over a year ago, many people have been called upon to assist the Committee in its work. The Committee would at this time like to thank all those who participated in its deliberations and contributed to this report.

First, the Members wish to express their gratitude to all the witnesses who appeared before the Committee (see Appendix A). Others did not appear but submitted written briefs. The contribution of all those who took the time to share their views was invaluable to the Committee.

The Committee is also grateful to the Clerk of the Committee, Mr. François Prégent, to his colleague, Mr. Eugene Morawski, and to the other staff from the Committees Branch for their administrative support.

The drafting of this report was the result of many hours of work on the part of the writing team set up by the Committee to analyse and summarize the mass of evidence it received. The Committee thanks the four members of this writing team, Mrs. Barbara Reynolds and Mrs. Katharine Dunkley from the Research Branch, Library of Parliament, Mr. Peter Dobell from the Parliamentary Centre, and Rarihokwats, researcher for the Assembly of First Nations. Their efforts were greatly appreciated.

The Committee also expresses its appreciation to the other Members of Parliament and representatives from native peoples' organizations who devoted time to its work (see Appendix B).

Finally, the Committee wishes to thank the assistants and researchers in the Members' offices, who made an important contribution to the work of the Committee (see Appendix H).