Report of the Canadian Delegates to the Thirteenth Assembly of the League of Nations

The Right Hon. R. B. Bennett, K.C., M.P., Secretary of State for External Affairs, Ottawa, Ontario.

SIR:—We have the honour to submit the following report on the proceedings of the Thirteenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations which was held in Geneva from September 26 to October 17, 1932:

ORGANIZATION OF THE ASSEMBLY

Fifty-three of the fifty-six States Members of the League were represented at the Assembly. This number was later increased by the admission of Iraq to membership in the League. Nicaragua, which has long abstained from the work of the Assembly, was this time represented. The Argentine, the Dominican Republic and Honduras did not send delegates.

The Canadian delegation consisted of the Hon. Charles Hazlitt Cahan, Secretary of State; Mr. Henry F. Munro, Superintendent of Education of the Province of Nova Scotia, and Mme. Charles Frémont, Quebec, with Mr. W. A. Riddell, Dominion of Canada Advisory Officer, accredited to the League of Nations, as alternate delegate; Mr. P. E. Renaud, acted as Secretary-General to the delegation.

The election of the officers of the Assembly resulted as follows:—

President: M. Nicolas Politis (Greece)

Vice-Presidents:

Baron Aloisi (Italy)
Sir John Simon (United Kingdom)
M. Herriot (France)
Baron von Neurath (Germany)
M. Medina (Nicaragua)
M. Nagaoka (Japan)
M. Motta (Switzerland)
M. Hymans (Belgium)

Chairmen of Committees:

First: M. Beelaerts van Blokland (Netherlands) Second: Mr. te Water (Union of South Africa) Fourth: M. de Vasconcellos (Portugal) Fifth: Count Carton de Wiart (Belgium) Sixth: M. Lange (Norway)

The Canadian delegation was represented on the Committees as follows:-

First Committee:

Hon. C. H. Cahan Mr. H. F. Munro

Second Committee:

Wanday.

OLD BURN

Dr. W. A. Riddell Hon, C. H. Cahan Fourth Committee:

Mr. H. F. Munro Dr. W. A. Riddell

Fifth Committee:

Mme. Charles Frémont Dr. W. A. Riddell