taken by the two latest "communities" to be established in Europe: the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM).

## The European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community

er-'

lve

ons na-

ept

.rds

ırg.

ion

ich,

hus

ion

the

d it

rds

the

lual

ents

ing

the

ure

sive

ces.

zed,

ean

urg

ity,

ırds

non

nti-

een

as a

nity

nts,

hey

bers

ries,

ates

hich the

eals

ligh s of

the

stics

orm

The genesis of these two Communities was the declaration produced by the Foreign Ministers of the six Coal and Steel Community countries after their meeting at Messina in June 1955. This was spoken of at the time as an attempt to "relaunch" the European movement—the earlier hopes for a move to European integration on a broad political front had received a serious check with the final failure of the European Defence Community Treaty to secure acceptance by the French Assembly (August 30, 1954). For this reason, the Messina Declaration returned to the earlier approach and proposed a programme of economic integration based on the establishment of a general common market, with special provisions for intensifying co-operation in the development of the European atomic energy industry. In the course of almost two years of intensive negotiation, the scope of the proposed common market was considerably broadened, until it now covers a good deal more than the simple establishment of a common external tariff by the six member countries and the removal of tariffs and quotas on the trade between them.

The treaties of Rome which established the two Communities—the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom)—were signed on March 25, 1957, and came into force on January 1, 1958. They are complex documents. The treaty creating the EEC makes provision for the development of a co-ordinated approach in numerous areas of economic and social activities, including working conditions and welfare, and the formation of general economic policy as it affects the stability of prices, employment levels and international balance of payments situations of the member countries. A European Investment Bank is established which is empowered to make and guarantee loans. Certain specified overseas territories of the member countries are associated with the Community and are given in some respects a special preferential position to assist in their economic development. The Treaty also contains separate provisions relating to the trade in agricultural products in which, owing to the strongly entrenched tradition of protecting domestic producers, the participating countries did not consider it possible to make a start at once on developing a common market, and instead pledged themselves to form a "common agricultural policy" as the preliminary step. The institutions of the two Communities are patterned on those of the Coal and Steel Community with which they will share two organs: a single parliamentary Assembly and a single Court of Justice.

Euratom also has a separate "supranational" Commission, under the supervision of which there is a "Supply Agency". By providing for a close co-operation in planning, research and operation of nuclear installations, and by establishing a common market free of tariff and quota barriers for nuclear materials and equipment, the members of the Community intend to build up a nuclear industry which will be an important source of energy to supplement the existing inadequate or expensive supplies of conventional