### Committee 2:

Chairman: Howard Mesher, Cartwright, Labrador.

Independent Members: Howard Fequet, Cartwright, Labrador; Helen Michelin, Rigolet, Labrador.

Fishermen: Bruce Martin, Cartwright, Labrador; Irving Mesher, Paradise, Labrador; Charles Tooksoshima, Rigolet, Labrador; Water Keefe, Black Tickle, Labrador.

### Committee 3:

Chairman: Toby Anderson, Makkovik, Labrador.

Independent Members: Rev. Father L. Paradis, Davis Inlet, Labrador; Sister Bosman, Davis Inlet, Labrador; Pastor Gillette, Postville, Labrador; Rev. R. Hunter, Nain, Labrador; Rev. L. Robinson, Makkovik, Labrador.

Fishermen: Chesley Flowers, Hopedale, Labrador; August Anderson, Nain, Labrador; Douglas Jacque, Postville, Labrador; Mervin Anderson, Makkovik, Labrador.

#### Committee 4:

Chairman: Wilson Gear, Happy Valley, Labrador.

Independent Member: Rev. Father Conway, Goose Bay, Labrador.

Fishermen: Rita Webber, Goose Bay, Labrador; John Webber, Goose Bay, Labrador; Cyril Michelin, Northwest River, Labrador; Richard Michelin, Northwest River, Labrador.

DISTRICT 5 (CORNER BROOK)

## Committee 1:

Chairman: Dan Duffy, Port-au-Port.

Co-Chairman: Edgar Jones, Jacksons Arm.

Independent Members: Thomas McCarthy, Port-au-Port; Ike Davis, Port-aux-Basques; Rev. Edward King, Burgeo.

Fishermen: Allison Fillatre, St. Georges; Stewart Brown, Jacksons Arm; Wayne Sheppard, Lark Harbour; Al McCarthy, Highlands; Eric Gillam, Portaux-Basques; Douglas Hann, Burgeo; Calmon Baggs, Isle Aux Morts; Michael Best, Rose Blanche; Clyde Durnford, François; Henry Neil, LaPoile; Peter Marche, Stephenville; William McDonald, Frenchman's Cove.

#### Committee 2:

Chairman: Clifford Doyle, New Ferrolle.

Co-Chairman: Asaph Payne, New Ferrolle.

Independent Member: Ralph Hoddinott, Brig Bay.

Fishermen: John Nedderson, Straitsview; Augustus Pynn, Quirpon; Gordon Parrell, Eddies Cove East; Garfield Way, Savage Cove.

# Committee 3:

Chairman: Eric O'Brien, L'Anse-au-Loup.

Independent Member: Melvin Hancock, Forteau.

Fishermen: George Letto, L'Anse Au Clair; James Marshall, West Ste. Modeste; James Hudson, Jr., Pinware.

Although there were Departmental Co-ordinators to provide administrative assistance and advice on policies and procedures to the committees, these persons were not voting members of the committees.

- 2. (a) Committees which will deal with second level appeals have not yet been established.
- (b) The final appeal is to the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

#### CANADA ELECTIONS ACT

BILL TO AMEND—SECOND READING—ORDER STANDS

## On the Order:

Resuming the debate on the motion of the Honourable Senator Austin, seconded by the Honourable Senator Goldenberg, for the second reading of the Bill S-11, intituled: "An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act".—(Honourable Senator Macdonald).

Hon. John M. Macdonald: Honourable senators, I ask that this order stand until Senator Lamontagne has spoken to Orders No. 3 and 4.

Senator Asselin: Not again!

Hon. Douglas D. Everett: Honourable senators, since Senator Macdonald accommodated me last evening, and is now extending the same courtesy to Senator Lamontagne, I think the Senate should recognize what a fine fellow he is.

Hon. Senators: Hear, hear.

Hon. Jacques Flynn (Leader of the Opposition): You didn't have to wait until today to find that out.

Hon. Royce Frith (Deputy Leader of the Government): We already knew, but it was worthwhile verifying it.

Hon. Lowell Murray: Our whip is very popular.

Senator Flynn: Our own whip.

Order stands.

## THE ESTIMATES

CONSIDERATION OF REPORT OF NATIONAL FINANCE COMMITTEE

The Senate resumed from yesterday the debate on the consideration of the report of the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance on the estimates laid before Parliament for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1982, which was presented on June 10, 1981.

**Hon. Maurice Lamontagne:** Honourable senators, I certainly support what Senator Everett has said, and I thank Senator Macdonald for his co-operation today.