MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, May 26, 1954.

The Standing Committee on Railways, Canals and Telegraph Lines met at 3.30 o'clock p.m. this day.

Members present: Messrs. Bell, Bonnier, Boucher (Restigouche-Madawaska), Breton, Byrne, Campbell, Cardin, Carter, Conacher, Deschatelets, Dumas, Gagnon, Garland, Gauthier (Lac St. Jean), Gourd (Chapleau), Green, Habel, Harrison, Healy, Hodgson, Holowach, Hosking, James, Lafontaine, Langlois (Gaspé), McIvor, Montgomery, Murphy (Westmorland), Murphy (Lambton West), Nicholson, Stanton, Villeneuve and Winch.

In attendance: Mr. R. K. Smith, Q.C., Chairman, Mr. M. A. Archer, Vice-Chairman, Mr. John F. Finlay, Legal Adviser, all of National Harbours Board, and Mr. Jean Brisset, Q.C., representing the Shipping Federation of Canada and the Vancouver Chamber of Shipping.

The Clerk informed the Committee that the Chairman, Mr. Henry B. McCulloch, and the Vice-Chairman, Mr. H. P. Cavers, were unavoidably absent, and attended to the election of a Chairman *pro tem*.

On motion of Mr. Langlois (Gaspé). Resolved,—That Mr. Byrne be Chairman pro tem.

Mr. Byrne assumed the Chair.

The Committee proceeded with the consideration of Bill No. 421 (Letter I-13 of the Senate), intituled: "An Act to amend the National Harbours Board Act".

Mr. Langlois made a statement in explanation of the changes contemplated in the existing Act as set out in the Bill under consideration.

Mr. Brisset was heard in opposition to certain clauses of the said Bill.

Mr. Finlay was also called and made a statement on the proposed amendments to the existing Act as set out in the Bill under consideration and was examined thereon.

At 4.25 o'clock p.m., the division bells having rung, the Committee proceeded to the House.

At 5.50 o'clock p.m., a quorum having again assembled, the Committee continued with the examination of Mr. Finlay.

Members present: Messrs. Bell, Bonnier, Boucher (Restigouche-Madawaska), Breton, Byrne, Campbell, Cardin, Carter, Conacher, Gagnon, Gauthier (Lac St. Jean), Gourd (Chapleau), Green Habel, Healy, Hodgson, James, Lafontaine, Langlois (Gaspé), Montgomery, Murphy (Westmorland), Murphy (Lambton West), Nicholson, Small, Stanton, Villeneuve and Winch.

Mr. Brisset was further examined.

At 6.10 o'clock p.m., the examination of the witnesses still continuing, the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

R. J. GRATRIX,

Clerk of the Committee.