New Members of the United Nations

THE fifteenth session of the United Nations General Assembly saw the admission of the following newly-independent states, of which two were former British colonies, one a former Belgian colony, and 11 members of the French Community:

	Capital	Indepen- dence	UN Admis- sion	Head of Government	Head of State
Cameroun	Yaoundé	Jan. 1 1960	Sept. 20 1960	Premier Charles Assale	President Ahnadon Ahidgo,
Togo	Lomé	April 27 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Sylvanus Olympio	President Sylvanus Olympio
Mali ¹	Bamako	June 20 1960	Sept. 28 1960	Premier Modibo Keita	Premier Modibo Keita
Senegal ¹	Dakar	June 20 1960	Sept. 28 1960	Prime Minister Mamadou Dia	President L. Senghor
Malagasy	Tananarive	June 26 1960	Sept. 20 1960	Premier Philibert Tsiranana	
Congo (Léopoldville)	Léopoldville	June 30 1960	Sept. 20 1960	In dispute	President Kasavubu
Somalia	Mogadiscio	July 1 1960	Sept. 20 1960	Prime Minister Abed Irashid Ali Shermarke	President Aden Abdullah Osman
Dahomey	Porto Novo	Aug. 1 1960	Sept. 20 1960	Premier Hubert Maga	Premier Hubert Maga
Niger	Niamey	Aug. 3 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Hamani Diori	President of Council of Ministers H. Diori
Upper Volta	Ouagadougou	Aug. 5 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Maurice Yameogo	President of Council of Ministers M. Yameogo
Ivory Coast	Abidjan	Aug. 7 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Felix Houphouet-Boigny	President F. Houphouet-Boigny
Chad	Fort Lamy	Aug. 11 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President François Tombalbaye	President François Tombalbaye
Central African Republic	1 Bangui	Aug. 13 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President David Dacko	President David Dacko
Congo	Brazzaville	Aug. 15 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Abbe Fulbert Youlou	President Abbe Fulbert Youloo
Cyprus	Nicosia	Aug. 16 1960	Sept. 20 1960		Archbishop Makarios
Gabon	Libreville	Aug. 17 1960	Sept. 20 1960	President Leon M'ba	President Leon M'ba
Nigeria	Lagos	Oct. 1 1960	Oct. 7 1960	Prime Minister Abubakar Tafawa Balewa	Governor-General Nnamdi Azikiwe

One June 20, 1960, the Federation of Mali became independent. It consisted of two former French territories, Senegal and Sudan. On August 20, Senegal announced its secession from the Federation. On September 22, Sudan acknowledged the dissolution of its federation with Senegal and transformed Sudan into the Republic of Mali.

9°