School organization includes small districts for elementary grades, large divisions usually for secondary grades only, and a school area whose board administers both elementary and secondary schools. The consolidation of small districts into larger units of administration, stepped up since the Second World War, now covers almost all the province.

Teachers are trained in Winnipeg at the University of Manitoba and in Brandon. Certificates, issued by the provincial Department of Education, are classified according to professional and academic training.

Public schools are free to all up to the age of 21, and compulsory from 7 to 15. The public schools are non-sectarian, and religious exercises are not compulsory.

Saskatchewan

Population: 955,344 (1966).

School enrolment: 245,734.

University enrolment (full-time): 10,707.

Grade system: kindergarten, Grades 1 to 12. Graduation from Grade 12 constitutes matriculation to the University of Saskatchewan (and its affiliates), where a first degree is obtainable after a three-year course of studies.

Main types of school administration include: (1) Local independent boards of three elected trustees; (2) the consolidated school district; (3) the larger school unit, combining 80 to 100 small rural districts; (4) urban centres, including towns and cities with elected boards; and (5) the northern areas, which are under an administrator who works with an education committee of local residents.

The eight elementary and four secondary grades have curricula organized in four divisions: I and II provide a six-year basic programme; intermediate Division III consists of Grades 7, 8, and 9; and high-school Division IV consists of Grades 10, 11 and 12.

Public schooling is provided free up to the age of 21, and is compulsory from 7 to 16 or Grade 8, whichever comes first. Public schools are non-sectarian, and religious instruction is not compulsory. There is provision for the setting-up of separate schools for children of a sufficiently large religious group in one locality.

All teacher-training comes within the jurisdiction of the College of Education of the University of Saskatchewan. A standard "A" certificate may be earned after two years of training beyond Grade 12, or a bachelor of education degree and professional certificate after four years beyond Grade 12.