Membership (signatories of protocols underlined) (Ratifiers indicated by 'R') (Data may be incomplete)	(As of December 1996) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, CAR, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Dijoubti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Gambia (R), Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauretania, Mauritius (R), Morocco, Mozambique, Nambia, Niger, Russia Rwanda, Sao & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, (Western Sahara), Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe	(As of December 1996) Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana (*), Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, St. Kitts and Nevis (*), St. Lucia (*), St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela All have ratified except Cuba. *indicates has ratified agreement, but not yet in force.	(As of December 1996) Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam	(As of December 1996) Australia (R), China, Cook Is. (R), Fiji (R), France, Kiribati (R), Nauru (R), New Zealand (R), Niue (R), Papua New Guinea (R), Russia, Western Samoa (R), Solomon Is. (R) and Tuvalu (R), United Kingdom, United States
Zone of application	Continent of Africa, island states which are OAU members and all islands considered to be part of Africa by the OAU, as well as territorial seas and archipelagic waters	All Latin American republics for which the treaty is in force and adjacent oceans. Once all have joined, the region approximately south of 35 degrees north latitude and east of 115 degrees west longitude in the Western hemisphere	The land territory, internal waters, territorial seas and archipelagic waters (including exclusive economic zones) of all states of Southeast Asia	Roughly the area stretching from the border of the Latin American nuclear-free zone in the east to the western coast of Australia in the west, and from the border of the Antarctic zone in the south north to the equator, with an extension to include Kiribati, including ocean areas