## 1.2.1 (cont'd)

- \* radio communications licensees, as authorised by their licences;
- \* OTC and AUSSAT as authorised by their respective acts;
- \* AUSSAT users (see 1.2.3 below);
  - \* as authorised by the Commission.

The Act also established Telecom as the regulatory authority, ie as the body which set the rules in regard to such things as:

- \* facilities and equipment which could be connected to its lines and networks; and
  - \* exemptions to its common carriage monopoly, for the construction and/or sharing of telecommunications facilities and networks and for the provision of value added services (VAS).

The rules were laid down in the Telecommunications By-Laws and in a series of policy documents and technical specifications issued by Telecom.

Telecom's product and service offerings, and the areas which had been opened to competition from private industry are discussed in Section 1.4 below.

## 1.2.2 OTC

The Overseas Telecommunications Commission was established by the Overseas Telecommunications Act 1946. It has since had the responsibility of being Australia's sole international telecommunications carrier. Its legislative charter has generally been seen as barring it from providing domestic communications services.

OTC provides international gateway facilities for a full range of international telecommunications services, including telephony, telex, packet switching and international leased circuits. It has major Intelsat earth stations at Ceduna (South Australia), Healesville (Victoria), Moree (New South Wales and Perth (Western Australia), and gateway switching centres in Sydney and Melbourne.