## The Planet's "Refrigerator"

"It would be interesting to know what information has been yielded by the USSR's research bases on the Sixth Continent, and how the Antarctic Treaty is working."

Kh. Keldiev City of Ordzhonikidze

The Antarctic Treaty went into force in December, 1959. The 15th Consultative Conference of the countries which signed the treaty was held in Paris on the eve of the 30th anniversary of this event. The conference examined a wide range of problems: formulating a comprehensive set of measures to protect the environment of the Antarctic, development of international scientific cooperation, and establishing joint hydrometeorological services to assist navigation in southern seas and to ensure the safety of flights in the Antarctic.

Your Pravda correspondent spoke with a participant at the conference -B. Krutskikh, director of the Scientific Research Institute of the Arctic and Antarctic.

"Thirty years ago 12 countries signed the Antarctic Treaty. How many countries have joined in the years since then?"

"There are delegations from 25 countries in Paris - Australia, the UK, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, the German Democratic Republic, India, Spain, Italy, the People's Republic of China, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, the USA, the USSR, Uruguay, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Chile, Sweden, the Union of South Africa, South Korea and Japan. Also, there are observers from 13 countries which have signed the treaty."