The preoccupation of Asian members with trade problems was the predominant feature of the twentieth session of ECAFE, which was held in Tehran in March. The meeting provided a forum for developing countries in Asia to formulate a consensus on their trade relations with advanced countries and their views were embodied in a unanimous resolution. Canada has maintained a continuing interest since 1958 in ECAFE's programme to develop the lower Mekong River Basin and has contributed \$1.3 million to this project under the auspices of the Colombo Plan.

The sixth session of the Economic Commission for Africa was held in Addis Ababa in February. A resolution was passed seeking to invite Angola, Mozambique and South West Africa to send delegations to the next session. Relations between the Economic Commission for Africa and the Organization of African Unity, as well as greater African representation on the ECA Secretariat, were the most prominent items discussed. In 1964, ECA shifted the emphasis in its role from gathering information about Africa's economic life to the implementation of specific projects designed to contribute to the economic development of the continent. During the year, the African Development Bank came into being and decisions were taken to set up permanent inter-governmental machinery for North Africa and to lay the foundations for an all-African Air Transport Organization.

## **Trusteeship Council**

The Charter created an international trusteeship system for the administration of colonial territories placed under United Nations supervision through individual trusteeship agreements. Originally there were 11 trust territories. Today only three remain : New Guinea, which is administered by Australia; Nauru, which is jointly administered by Australia, Britain and New Zealand; and the large Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, which is administered by the United States.

Since its membership is evenly divided between administering members, on the one hand, and non-administering members, on the other, the size of the Trusteeship Council diminishes as the number of Trust Territories decreases. In 1964, the administering members were Australia, Britain, New Zealand and the United States, while the non-administering members of the Council were China, France, Liberia and the Soviet Union. The thirty-first session of the Council was held from May 20 to June 29, 1964.