Beresford, 1814. Erected from unassigned lands in Northumberland. Included also most of the present county of Restigouche until 1829 when Addington was set off restricting it to the present Beresford and Durham, until 1837, when Restigouche was erected, restricting it to the form shown on Wilkinson; enlarged to its present form by the alteration of the county line in 1881.

(Addington, 1826. Now included in Restigouche, which see.)

(Eldon, 1826. Now included in Restigouche, which see.)

New Bandon, 1831. Set off from Saumarez as at present.

Caraquette, 1831. Set off from Saumarez as at present, but including Shippegan until 1851 and a small part of Paquetville until 1897.

Shippegan, 1851. Set off from Saumarez as at present.

Inkermann, 1855. Set off from Saumarez, but including St. Isidore in part until 1881, and most of Paquetville until 1897.

St. Isidore, 1881. Set off partly from Saumarez and partly from Inkermann as at present.

Paquetville, 1897. Set off from Inkermann with a small portion of Caraquette as at present.

CARLETON COUNTY, 1831.

A part of two of the original parishes of York lay in this county when it was erected, but all the remainder, including all of the present Victoria and Madawaska counties, was unassigned land.

WOODSTOCK, 1786. Erected in York. Included Dumfries in York (then comprising part of Canterbury) until 1833, and part of Richmond until 1853.

NORTHAMPTON, 1786. Erected in York, and included Southampton in that county until 1833; otherwise as at present.

Wakefield, 1803. Erected in York from unassigned lands. Included Simonds (then comprising Wilmot) until 1842, and Brighton (then comprising Peel) until 1830.

Kent, 1821. Erected in York from unassigned lands. Included all York county above the then Wakefield, and hence the present Wicklow (until 1833), and Aberdeen (until 1863), and all of the present Victoria and Madawaska Counties.

Brighton, 1830. Erected from Wakefield, as at present, but including Peel until 1859.

Wicklow, 1833. Set off from Kent as at present,

[Perth, 1833. Now in Victoria, which see.]

[Andover, 1833. Now in Victoria, which see.]

[Madawaska, 1833. Now in Madawaska County, which see.]

Simonds, 1842. Set off from Wakefield, and including Wilmot until 1867.

Richmond, 1853. Set off from Woodstock and unassigned lands.

Peel, 1859. Set off from Brighton.

Aberdeen, 1863. Set off from Kent, and in small part from Brighton as at present.

Wilmot, 1867. Set off from Simonds, as at present.