The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honorable Allan J. MacEachen, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 7th Special Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which will convene at United Nations Headquarters, New York, on Monday, September 1. Mr. Allan J. MacEachen will be the chairman of the Delegation. The other members will be:

Dr. Saul F. Rae Ambassador and Permanent Representative

of Canada to the United Nations,

New York

Mr. Herb Breau Member of Parliament, Parliamentary

Secretary to the Secretary of State

for External Affairs

Mr. D.D. Tansley Senior Vice-President, Multilateral

Programs Branch

Canadian International Development Agency

Miss P.A. McDougall Director General

Bureau of Economic and Scientific Affairs

Department of External Affairs

Mr. G.F. Bruce Deputy Permanent Representative and

Minister to the United Nations, New York

Mr. A.L. Halliday Acting General Director

Office of General Relations

Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce

Mr. R.J. Martin Acting Director

International Programmes Division

Department of Finance

Some members of the Standing Committee for External Affairs and National Defence will participate in the 7th Special Session as Parliamentary Observers. These Members of Parliament are:

Mr. Hugh Anderson, M.P. for Comox-Alberni

Mr. Andrew Brewin, M.P. for Greenwood

Mr. Lloyd Francis, M.P. for Ottawa-West

Mr. David MacDonald, M.P. for Egmont