The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, is pleased to announce today the appointment of Mrs. Brenda Norris to be a Canadian member of the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission.

## Brief History

The establishment of the International Park was prompted by the offer of the Hammer family of New York to donate the Roosevelt cottage and surrounding grounds to Canada and the United States in memory of President Roosevelt.

According to the U.S. Government Organization Manual, "the purpose of the Commission is to accept the title from the Hammer family to the former Roosevelt home and other grounds on Campobello Island, to take necessary steps to restore the home as closely as possible to its condition when occupied by President Roosevelt, and to administer the Park as a memorial". Prime Minister Pearson and President Kennedy accepted in principle the Hammer family offer in a joint communiqué of May, 1963. Negotiations between the two countries culminated in a joint agreement of acceptance being signed on January 22, 1964, by President Lyndon B. Johnson and Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson.

Each country subsequently implemented the required legislation. The United States legislation (Public Law 88-363), the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Act, was approved by Congress on July 7, 1964. The Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission Act, 1964-65, c.19, enacted by Canada, was assented to on June 30, 1964, and proclaimed on August 14, 1964. The latter date was also agreed to in the exchange of notes between the two countries as the date of establishment of the Commission.

## Appointments

Three Commissioners and three Alternate Commissioners are appointed by each country. All members serve without salary and their appointments are open ended. Of these, one commissioner and one alternate are nominated by the Governments of Maine and of New Brunswick. The Chairmanship of the Commission alternates every two years in July between a Canadian and an American, appointed from within the Commission, the vice-chairman acting as Chairman in the latter's absence. The Chairman and vice-chairman cannot be of the same nationality.