Canada-Israel Timeline

1947	"Question of Palestine" is placed before the United Nations General Assembly, and the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine (UNSCOP) is established; Canada is one of the 11 member countries of UNSCOP
1947	Partition proposal from UNSCOP goes to a vote in the General Assembly; Canada is one of 33 nations to vote in favour of establishing the state of Israel
1948	Israel becomes an independent state as the United Kingdom ends its Mandate for Palestine
1949	Canada recognizes the state of Israel, marking the start of the diplomatic relationship
1952	Moshe Sharett, Israel's Foreign Minister, makes an official visit to Canada
1953	Canada opens its first embassy in Tel Aviv, where George Kidd serves as ambassador and Michael Comay is appointed Israel's first ambassador in Ottawa
1957	Foreign Affairs Minister Lester B. Pearson is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his leadership during the Suez Crisis and his contribution to peace in the Middle East
1958	Foreign Minister Golda Meir visits Canada
1961	David Ben-Gurion, Israel's founder and first prime minister, visits Canada, marking the first state visit by an Israeli to Canada
1967	Zalman Shazar makes the first visit to Canada by an Israeli president, during Canada's centennial at the World Exposition in Montreal
1969	Extradition agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State of Israel
1971	Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State of Israel on commercial scheduled air services
1975	Convention between the State of Israel and Canada for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and on capital
1978	Prime Minister Menachem Begin visits Canada
1980	Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State of Israel on film relations
1980	Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State Israel relative to the Canada Pension Plan
1987	Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the State of Israel on air transport