ROSTOW, EUGENE is Sterling Professor of Law and Public Studies at Yale University. He was formerly Director of the United States Arms Control and Disarmament Agency, Under-Secretary of State for Political Affairs and President of the Atlantic Treaty Association. Dr. Rostow is the author of several books including The Pursuit of Peace (1968) and Peace in the Balance (1972). A graduate of Yale Law School, he received his M.A. from Cambridge University.

SCHLESINGER, JAMES is a member of the staff of the Centre for Strategic and International Studies at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C., and is Senior Advisor to Lehman Brothers Kuhn Loeb, Inc. He has also served as United States Secretary of Energy, Secretary of Defence, Director of the Central Intelligence Agency and Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission. Dr. Schlesinger is the author of The Political Economy of National Security (1960) and is co-author of Issues in Defence Economics (1967). He received his M.A. and PH.D. from Harvard University.

SONNENFELDT, HELMUT is a Visiting Scholar at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. He has served as Counsellor and Director of the Office of Research and Analysis for the USSR and Eastern Europe in the United States State Department and was a senior staff member of the National Security Council from 1969 to 1974. He has also lectured at the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University and is a member of the Royal Institute for Strategic Studies, the Council on Foreign Relations and the Institute for Stratetic Studies. Mr. Sonnenfeldt received his M.A. from Johns Hopkins University.

STEEL, the Right Honourable DAVID is Leader of the Liberal Party of the United Kingdom and is the Member of Parliament for the riding of Roxburgh, Selkirk and Peebles in Scotland. He was first elected to Parliament in 1965 and became Liberal leader in 1976. Mr. Steel was formerly a broadcaster and journalist with the BBC, Scottish Television and Granada Television. He recieved his M.A. and LL.B. from the University of Edinburgh.