## Patent Act

Ravis Crosbie Johnson (Bonavista—Trinity-Redway (St. John's West) Daubney Conception) Ricard Schellenberg Desjardins Ioncas Kelleher (Nanaimo-Alberni) Edwards Kempling Scott Ellis (Victoria-Haliburton) Kindy Epp (Provencher) King Fennell Ladouceur (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Ferland Lawrence Siddon Fontaine Layton Sparrow Lesick Forrestall Fraleigh Lewis Speyer MacDonald Stackhouse Fretz (Kingston and Stevens Gérin the Islands) Stewart Taylor Gervais Mailly Malone Towers Girard Mantha Tremblay Gottselig Martin (Lotbinière) Mayer Tupper (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Mazankowski Turner (Ottawa—Carleton) la-Madeleine) McKinnon McKnight Vankoughnet Greenaway McMillan Vézina Grisé Hamelin Minaker Vincent Hamilton Mitges Warner Hardey Moore White Wilson Hawkes Nicholson (Niagara Falls) (Swift Current-Hicks Maple Creek) Hnatyshyn Nickerson Oberle Winegard Holtmann Horner O'Neil Wise Witer-104 Hudon Paproski lames Pietz Plourde Jardine

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. The next question is on Motion No. 43. Mr. Orlikow moved:

Motion No. 43

That Bill C-22, be amended in Clause 15 by striking out lines 6 to 9 at page 25 and substituting the following therefor:

- "(7) The Governor in Council shall make regulations defining, for the purposes of this section, the expression "research and development" which shall include the following criteria:
- (a) all expenditures made under the requirements for a notice of compliance for phase one and phase two of clinical trials;
- (b) all expenditures made for laboratory and preclinical work which lead to a notice of compliance;

but shall not include

- (c) all expenditures made under the requirements for a notice of compliance for phase three of clinical trials; and
- (d) all expenditures associated with the marketing of the medicine including all direct and indirect marketing schemes by patentees."

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Orlikow), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 123)

YEAS

Members

Althouse Blackburn
Baker (Brant)
Benjamin Broadbent
Berger Cassidy

de Corneille de Jong

Kaplan (Thunder Bay-Keeper Langdon Nipigon) Foster MacLellan Manly Garneau McCurdy Gauthier McDonald Gray (Windsor West) (Broadview Greenwood) Grondin Murphy Hopkins Hovdebo Isabelle (Trinity)

Nystrom Ouellet Penner Riis Robinson Rompkey Rossi Young —35

NAYS

Members

Andre Hawkes Attewell Hicks Bernier Hnatyshyn Bertrand Holtmann Blenkarn Horner Bourgault Hudon Brightwell James Browes Jardine Cadieux Johnson Clark (Bonavista-Trinity-(Brandon-Souris) Conception) Collins Joncas Comeau Kelleher Crofton Kempling Crosbie Kindy (St. John's West) King Ladouceur Desjardins Lawrence Edwards Layton Ellis Lesick Epp Lewis (Provencher) MacDonald Fennell (Kingston and Ferland the Islands) Fontaine Mailly Malone Fraleigh Mantha Fretz Martin Gass Mayer Gérin Mazankowski Gervais McKinnon McKnight Gottselig McMillan Graham Minaker Gray Mitges (Bonaventure-Îles-de-Moore la-Madeleine) Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Greenaway

Pietz Plourde Price Ravis Redway Ricard Schellenberg (Nanaimo--Alberni) (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Siddon Sparrow Stackhouse Stevens Stewart Taylor Towers Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Vankoughnet Vézina Vincent Warner White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Winegard Wise Witer-104

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. The next question is on Motion No. 44. Mr. Dingwall moved:

Nickerson

Oberle

O'Neil

Paproski

Motion No. 44

Grisé

Hamelin

Hardey

Hamilton

That Bill C-22, be amended in Clause 15 by striking out lines 10 to 13 at page 25 and substituting the following therefor:

"41.26(1) The Governor in Council may, at any time but no later than the expiration of four years after section 41.11 comes into force, by order, where he determines".

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Dingwall), which was negatived on the following division: