The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Questions, comments or debate.

May I indicate to Hon. Members that the Chair is obligated to put the motion at 5.45 p.m. I do not see any Hon. Member standing for the purpose of debate. Is it the wish of the House that I call it 5.45 p.m. and put the question?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): It being 5.45 p.m. it is my duty, pursuant to Section 3 of Standing Order 42, to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the subamendment. Mr. Broadbent, seconded by Mr. Blaikie, moves:

That the amendment be amended by inserting after the word "nation" the following words:

"and specifically, that your government has failed to set targets to put Canadians back to work, to ensure that economic recovery is shared by all Canadians and to reform the tax system to close loopholes which allow the most wealthy Canadians to pay little or no income tax,".

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those in favour will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Broadbent) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 1)

YEAS Messrs

Althouse Andre Beatty Blackburn Blaikie Blenkarn Bradley Broadbent Cardiff Carney (Miss) Clark (Yellowhead) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Messrs.

Clarke
(Vancouver Quadra)
Cook
Cooper
Corbett
Cossitt (Mrs.)
Crosbie
(St. John's West)
Crosby
(Halifax West)
Crouse
Dantzer
Darling
Deans
de Jong

Ellis
Elzinga
Epp
Fennell
Forrestall
Fraser
Fretz
Friesen
Fulton
Gurbin
Halliday

Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hargrave

The Address-Mr. A. Hamilton

Messrs.

Hees	Mayer	Patterson
Hnatyshyn	McCuish	Reid
Huntington	McDonald (Ms.)	(St. Catharines)
Jarvis	(Broadview-Greenwood)	Roche
Jewett (Miss)	McKenzie	Sargeant
Keeper	McKinnon	Scott
Kempling	Miller	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Kilgour	Mitges	Scott
King	Mulroney	(Victoria-Haliburton)
Knowles	Munro	Siddon
Korchinski	(Esquimalt-Saanich)	Speyer
Kristiansen	Murphy	Stevens
Lambert	Murta	Taylor
La Salle	Neil	Thacker
Lewis	Nickerson	Towers
Lewycky	Nielsen	Vankoughnet
MacDonald (Miss)	Nowlan	Waddell
(Kingston and the Islands)	Nystrom	Wenman
MacDougall	Oberle	Wise
Malone	Paproski	Wright
Manly	Parker	Young—94.

NAYS

Messrs.

Allmand	Dubois	Lapointe
Appolloni (Mrs.)	Duclos	(Beauce)
Axworthy	Dupont	LeBlanc
Bachand	Duquet	Leduc
Baker	Erola (Mrs.)	Lefebvre
Beauchamp-Niquet	Ethier	Loiselle
(Mrs.)	Evans	Lumley
Bégin (Miss)	Ferguson	MacBain
Berger	Fleming	MacGuigan
Blais	Flis	Mackasey
Blaker	Fox	MacLellan
Bockstael	Frith	Malépart
Bossy	Garant	Maltais
Breau	Gauthier	Marceau
Bujold	Gendron	Massé
	Gingras	Masters
Burghardt	Gourd	McRae
Bussières		Nicholson (Miss)
Caccia	(Argenteuil-Papineau)	Olivier (Wiss)
Campbell (Miss)	Gourde	Ostiguy
(South West Nova)	(Lévis)	Pelletier
Campbell	Gray	
(LaSalle)	Guilbault	Penner
Campbell	Harquail	Pinard
(Cardigan)	Henderson	Portelance
Chrétien	Herbert	Prud'homme
Collenette	Hervieux-Payette	Regan
Comtois	(Mrs.)	Reid
Corbin	Hopkins	(Kenora-Rainy River)
Corriveau	Hudecki	Rompkey
Côté (Mrs.)	Isabelle	Rooney
Cousineau	Ittinuar	Rossi
Cyr	Johnston	Roy
Dawson	Joyal	Savard
De Bané	Kaplan	Schroder
de Corneille	Kelly	Simmons
Demers	Killens (Mrs.)	Smith
Deniger	Lachance	Tardif
Desmarais	Lamontagne	Tessier
Dingwall	Landers	Tobin
Dion	Lang	Tousignant
Dionne	Laniel	Trudeau
(Chicoutimi)	Lapierre	Turner
Dionne	Lapointe	Weatherhead
(Northumberland-	(Charlevoix)	Whelan
Miramichi)	(Charletoin)	Yanakis—121.
Will afficility		- diluxis Tati

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I declare the amendment to the amendment lost.

It being 6.16 p.m., this House stands adjourned until 11 a.m. tomorrow morning, pursuant to Standing Order 2(1).