I am convinced that the matter is not entirely forgotten. I think it is worth while. I look forward to the Minister of National Revenue (Mr. Gray) perhaps bringing forward those regulations at a future date. If the hon. member thinks it is a good idea, I am sure with pressure from him, myself and other members, this might become a reality.

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the subamendment. All those in favour of the subamendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Burton) which was negatived on the following division:

• (9:10 p.m.)

Aiken

Alexander

YEAS

Messrs:

Alkenbrack Asselin Baldwin Barnett Bell Benjamin Bigg Blackburn Brewin Burton Carter Coates Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Dionne Fairweather Flemming Fortin Gauthier Gleave Harding Harkness Horner Howe Knight Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lambert Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) Latulippe Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont)

24725-31

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacInnis (Mrs.) MacKay Macquarrie McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Mazankowski Monteith Muir Murta Nesbitt Nowlan Paproski Peddle Peters Ricard Ritchie Rose Rowland Saltsman Scott Simpson Skoberg Skoreyko Southam Stanfield Stewart Marquette) Tétrault Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Winch Yewchuk-71.

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Béchard Benson Blair Blouin Borrie Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Clermont Cobbe Corriveau Cullen Cvr Danson Davis Deachman De Bané Dupras Duquet Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Guilbault Haidasz Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Lachance Laflamme Laing (Vancouver South) Laioie Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre • (9:40 p.m.)

NAYS Messrs: Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lind Loiselle MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey McBride McNulty Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison Munro O'Connell Olson Pelletier Penner Pepin Perrault Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Richardson Rochon Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) St. Pierre Sulatvcky Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Trudel Turner (London East) Wahn Walker Watson Weatherhead Whelan Whicher Whiting-92

Division

Mr. Speaker: I declare the subamendment lost. The question is now on the amendment to the main motion. All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Is it the wish of the House that we proceed to the vote without the ringing of the bells?