Appendix I

Membership of the United Nations and Important United Nations Bodies at December 31, 1955.

United Nations

Afghanistan Ireland Albania Israel Argentina Italy Australia Jordan Austria Laos Belgium Lebanon Bolivia Liberia Brazil Libya Bulgaria Luxembourg Burma Mexico Byelorussian Nepal S.S.R. Netherlands Cambodia New Zealand Canada Nicaragua Ceylon Norway Chile Pakistan China Panama Colombia Paraguav Costa Rica Peru Cuba Philippines Czechoslovakia Poland Denmark Portugal Dominican Romania Republic Saudi Arabia Ecuador Spain Egypt El Salvador Sweden Syria Ethiopia Thailand Finland Turkey France Ukrainian S.S.R. Greece Union of South Guatemala Africa U.S.S.R Haiti Honduras United Kingdom Hungary United States Iceland Uruguay

Security Council

India

Iran

Iraq

Indonesia

Permanent Members

China France Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United Kingdom United States

Non-Permanent Members (2-year term)

Venezuela

Yugoslavia

Yemen

Serving until December 31, 1954: Colombia. Denmark Lebanon Serving until December 31, 1955: Brazil New Zealand

Turkey Serving until December 31, 1956: Belgium Iran

Peru

Serving until December 31, 1957: Australia Cuba Yugoslavia

Economic and Social Council (3-year term)

Serving until December 31, 1954: Argentina Cuba

Belgium Egypt China France Serving until December 31, 1955:

Australia United States India Venezuela Turkey Yugoslavia Serving until December 31, 1956: Czechoslovakia Pakistan Ecuador U.S.S.R.

Norway United Kingdom Serving until December 31, 1957: Argentina

Egypt China France Dominican Netherlands Republic

Serving until December 31, 1958: Brazil Indonesia Canada United States Greece Yugoslavia

Trusteeship Council

Administering Trust Territories: Australia New Zealand Belgium United Kingdom France United States Italy

Permanent Members of the Security Council Not Administering Trust Territories:

China U.S.S.R.

Elective Members (3-year term):

Serving until December 31, 1955: El Salvador Syria Serving until December 31, 1956:

Haiti India Serving until December 31, 1958:

Guatemala Syria Burma

On December 14, 1955, Italy became a member of the United Nations and automatically was given a permanent seat on the Trusteeship Council as the administering authority for the trust territory of Somaliland. Before that date Italy took part, without vote, in the Council's deliberations concerning Somaliland and concerning general questions affecting the operation of the international trusteeship system. In order to restore the balance in the Trusteeship Council between administering and non-administering members, Burma was elected on December 16, 1955 to serve for a three-year term as an elective member of the Council.