It was unanimously Resolved, That the following Persons be Officers of the Society for the present year:—

Major R. Hutchinson, President; Rev. Samuel Bancroft' Vice-President; N. F. Longley, Secretary.

Executive Committee.—Thomas Holdsworth, John T. Smith, William L. Bent, M.D., Alfred A. Ray. William Warrington, William W. Hicks, William Henry Lambert, M.D., Capt. John W. Wright, Botsford Viets, Edward M. Marshall, Wentworth H. Quigley, Thomas Letteney, George McColla. Further,

Resolved,—That a meeting of the Temperance Society be held every three months,—the President being empowered to call a meeting at any intermediate time.

The following Persons took the Pledges, namely:

Temperance Pledge.—John T. Smith, William H. Lambert, M.D., Emeline Everett.

Total Abstinence Pledge. — William W. Hicks, Conrad Handspiker.

In addition to the foregoing members, the following named also subscribed thereto, on dates specified, to-wit:—

February 14th, 1842.—Temperance Pledge.—George McColla, David McNaughton, Major Roop.

February 17th, 1842.—Ambrose Potter.

March 10th, 1842.—Temperance Pledge.—Elizabeth Wright, Isaac G. Noble, \*Francis Hutchinson, Jr., Sarah Burns, \*Sarah FitzGerald.

Total Abstinence Pledge.—George Peters.

At a special meeting of the Digby Temperance Society held March 31st, 1842, an address was delivered by John George Marshall, Esq., Chief Justice of the Inferior Court of Common Pleas for Cape Breton from 1824 to its abolition,—who was an ardent labourer for advancement of the Temperance Reformation, in the open Societies; and later a devoted member of Athenæum Division, No. 96, Sons of Temperance, Halifax, and of the Grand Division for Nova Scotia.

Before the assemblage dispersed, twenty-six persons, as here named, subscribed to the first Pledge; and six others assumed the more comprehensive one:—