

## PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 59

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 1953

The Secretary of State for External Affairs today announced the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Eighth Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations, which opens in New York on September 15. The Delegation is as follows:

## Representatives:

Mr. L.B. Pearson, M.P., Secretary of State for External Affairs (Chairman of the Delegation).

Mr. Alcide Cote, M.P., Postmaster-General (Vice-Chairman of the Delegation)

Senator Stanley S. McKeen.

Mr. D.M. Johnson, Canadian Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York,

Dr. George F. Davidson, Deputy Minister of Welfare.

## Alternate Representatives:

Mr. Alan MacNaughton, M.P.

Mr. G.S. Patterson, Consul-General of Canada, Boston,

Mrs. A.L. Caldwell, Member of the Board of Governors of the National Film Board and Member of the Senate of the University of Saskatchewan,

Mr. Stuart Hemsley, Department of External Affairs,

Mr. G. B. Summers, Q.C., Department of External Affairs.

Advisers for the Delegation will be drawn from the Department of External Affairs and the Department of Finance in Ottawa and from the Canadian Permanent Delegation to the United Nations in New York. Parliamentary observers will be added to the Delegation and their names will be announced in a later release.