Canada's external affairs services continued to expand following the war. Embassies were opened in a number of countries and, after 1947, high commissioners were accredited to India and Pakistan, and subsequently to most of the other new members of the Commonwealth -- Ceylon, Cyprus, Ghana, Jamaica, Malaysia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Kenya and Malta.

During and after the war, Canada participated in the general trend toward the elevation of legations to embassy status. In 1943, most of the large Canadian missions abroad became embassies. Since then, certain of the new missions listed above were opened as embassies, while others, such as the missions in Italy and Switzerland, were raised to the rank of embassies later.

Membership in the United Nations has increased Canada's responsibilities outside its own borders, and Canada has been represented on various organs of the United Nations since its formation in San Francisco in 1945. After Canada's election, for a term, to the Security Council in September 1947, a Permanent Canadian Delegation was established in New York in January 1948, and later in the year a small office was also opened in Geneva, the European headquarters of the organization. In view of the increasing responsibilities which Canada has assumed in the organization since that time (e.g., Palestine Truce Supervision, Indo-Pakistan border observation, United Nations Emergency Force, United Nations Operation in the Congo, and other UN undertakings), both these offices, now called Permanent Missions, have been expanded.

Canada was one of the founding members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1949, and has played an active role in the Organization during the many years of its existence. In May 1952, on the establishment of a NATO Permanent Council, a Canadian Permanent Delegation was set up in Paris to represent Canada's NATO interests. There is also in Paris a Canadian Permanent Delegation to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition to representing Canada on these permanent international bodies and their various committees, officials of the Department of External Affairs have been members of Canadian delegations at a large number of international conferences in recent years.

Today, Canada conducts its external relations with some 85 countries through the following channels:

- (a) Embassies in: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroun, Chile, Colombia, Congo (Leopoldville), Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Arab Republic, the United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yugoslavia;
- (b) Non-Resident Ambassadors in: Algeria, Bolivia, Burma, the Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Dahomey, El Salvador, Gabon, Guatemala, Guinea, Honduras, Hungary,