news release

Date

JANUARY 9, 1984

84/5

For release

CANADA/EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT SIGNED

The Honourable Allan J. MacEachen, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, and the Honourable Donald J. Johnston, Minister of State for Science and Technology and for Economic and Regional Development, today announced that a new Agreement on Cooperation between Canada and the European Space Agency (ESA) has been signed. The Agreement was signed by Mr. Johnston and by Mr. Erik Quistgaard, Director General of ESA, at the European Space Research and Technology Centre in Noordwijk, the Netherlands.

"Canada's cooperative relationship with ESA began when the first Agreement came into force in 1979," Mr. Johnston said. "This country will continue to work closely with ESA's eleven member states to foster the development and application of space technology and to open new industrial opportunities for all of us."

As part of Canada's cooperation with ESA, Canadian industry participates in general studies and programs such as the large telecommunications satellite (OLYMPUS) planned for launch in 1986 and the European earth observation satellite (ERS-1).

ESA was founded in 1975 to promote peaceful cooperation among European states in the application of space research and technology. Recent Agency accomplishments include the development of the Ariane commercial launch vehicle and the scientific laboratory SPACELAB, which completed its successful first mission on the last Shuttle voyage November 28 - December 08, 1983. The member states include Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Ireland, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Austria and Norway are associate members.

.../2

