ICAO CONFERENCE ON AIR NAVIGATION SERVICES GREENLAND AND THE FAROE ISLANDS

FINAL ACT

The Governments of BELGIUM, CANADA, DENMARK, FRANCE, ICELAND, NETHERLANDS, NORWAY, SWEDEN, UNITED KINGDOM and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Having accepted the invitation extended to them by the Council of the International Civil Aviation Organisation to be represented at a Conference, held in London on the invitation of the United Kingdom Government to the Council, to consider a request made by the Government of Denmark that the Council should provide a portion of the costs of financing the LORAN services at Skuvanes in the Faroe Islands and air navigation services in Greenland.

Appointed as their Representatives:

(Here follow the names of the Representatives for Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States of America)

The following Representatives of international organisations attended the Conference, as observers, in response to an invitation extended by the Council of the International Civil Aviation Organization.

(Here follow the names of the Representatives of the International Air Transport Association and the International Meteorological Organisation.)

The Conference together with the Second Conference on ICAO North Atlantic Ocean Stations and the ICAO Conference on Air Navigation Services in Greece (known collectively as the ICAO Conferences on the Joint Financing and Operation of Air Navigation Services, London, 1949) was opened in London, at the Royal Geographical Society, on 20th April, 1949, by Sir George Cribbett, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation, representing the United Kingdon Government, after the meeting had been called to order by Mr. E. M. Weld, Secretary General of the Conferences.

Sir Frederick Tymns, Head of the United Kingdom Delegation, was elected President of the Conferences. Mr. Paul T. David, Head of the United States Delegation, was elected Chairman of the Conference on air navigation services in Greenland and the Faroe Islands, and Capt. A. S. de Bats, Member of the Netherlands Delegation, was elected Vice-Chairman.

At its second meeting, on 21st April, 1949, the Conference set up:

- a Technical Committee with Mr. Glen A. Gilbert (United States of America) as Chairman, assisted by Mr. G. Cartwright and Mr. R. J. Sullivan of the Secretariat of the International Civil Aviation Organisation;
- a Financial Committee with Mr. T. Paris (United Kingdom) as Chairman, assisted by Dr. J. Dubsky and Mr. M. A. Bierens de Haan of the Secretariat of the International Civil Aviation Organisation.