The seats of the several Provincial governments are determined by the executive authority of each.

The Dominion Parliament has also unrestricted authority to make provision for the uniformity of all or any laws relative to civil rights and property, and the procedure in the courts of the various Provinces. But these laws do not go into effect in any Province until adopted by the Legislature thereof.

As originally established in 1867, Canada consisted of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick, who were to elect a House of Commons, consisting originally of 181 members, 82 for Ontario, 65 for Quebec, 19 for Nova Scotia, and 15 for New Brunswick, to be enlarged thereafter at the will of the Parliament of Canada, preserving. however, the proportion among those colonies according to population. The members of the House of Commons must possess the same qualifications as would entitle them to sit and vote in a Provincial assembly. The qualifications of voters may be prescribed from time to time by Parliament. The other House of Parliament of Canada consists of a Senate, originally of 72 members, each of whom must dwell in the Province from which he is appointed, must be a natural born subject of the Queen of Great Britain, or naturalized by either of the Provinces of the Union, or by the Parliament after the Union, and must be seized of a freehold worth four thousand dollars over all incumbrances. and must also be worth four thousand dollars above all debt. The person ceasing to have either of these qualifications ceases to be a Senator. The Senate originally consisted of 72 members, 24 each for Ontario and Quebec, and 24 for the maritime Provinces. The Queen may on recommendation of the Governor-General increase the number of Senators, three at a time, the total number not to exceed 78. Since the admission of the new Provinces the number of Senators has been increased to 80.

Sections 91, 92, and 93 of the British North America Act