The March Corporation Meeting

The regular March meeting of the Yale Corporation was held in New Haven on Saturday, March 13, with the following members in attendance: President Hadley, Rev. Messrs. Smyth, Calhoun, and Brown, and Messrs. Clark, Cheney, Murphy, and Fisher representing the Successors of the Original Trustees; also Messrs. Sargent, Ripley, Farwell, McCormick, and Farnam representing the Alumni Fellows, and Provost-elect Walker. President Hadley welcomed Mr. Samuel H. Fisher, '89, on his first appearance at a meeting of the Corporation and announced his appointment as a member of the Committee on Educational Policy.

Expressing appreciation of his twenty years of valuable service to the University as Clinical Professor of Neurology in the Medical School, the Corporation accepted the resignation of Dr. Max Mailhouse, '76 S. and '78 M. This resignation will take effect at the close of the present college year.

Dr. Mailhouse began the practice of his profession in New Haven upon graduation from the Yale Medical School in 1878. Having served as Lecturer on Neurology at Yale from 1900 to 1907 he became Clinical Professor of Neurology, the post from which he now resigns. He has been president of the National Association for the Study of Epilepsy (1906-07), president of the Connecticut Colony for Epileptics (1910-15), a member of the American Medical Association, the Connecticut State Medical Society and its president in 1906, and New York Neurological Society. For seven years he was secretary of the State Medical Examining Board.

Several Faculty appointments were made. Rev. Charles Allen Dinsmore, D.D., was appointed Lecturer on the Bible as Literature in the Divinity School with professorial rank. Shepherd Stevens was appointed Assistant Professor of Architecture in the School of the Fine Arts.

Appointments of Instructors included the following: Howard B. Meek, Mathematics, in the Graduate School. Paul Lambert White, History, Freshman Year. Norman Sydney Buck, B.A., Political Economy.

____ Professional School Alumni Fund Agents

This year for the first time in the history of the Alumni Fund, agents have been appointed to represent the Graduate Schools of the University in order that the alumni, not reached heretofore by agents of Academic or Sheff classes, may be given the opportunity to contribute direct through their own class agents. The following new appointments have been made by the directors:

School of Law: James T. Moran, '84; E. G. Buckland, '89; J. C. Sweeney, '96; F. L. Perry, '97; Augustine Lonergan, '02; Richard C. Hunt, '08; R. Hunter McQuistion, '09; Raymond E. Hackett, '11; W. W. Meyer, '15.

School of Medicine: E. Terry Smith, '97; A. H. Sharpe, '02; C. W. Comfort, '11.

School of Forestry: J. E. Rothery, '08; W. K. Wildes, '10.

School of Religion: Rev. O. E. Maurer, '06.

Graduate School: Professor Wm. Lyon Phelps, '89; Elisabeth Woodbridge Morris, '08

beth Woodbridge Morris, '98.

Notes

On Tuesday evening, March 16, Siegfried Sassoon, the poet, was the guest of the Elizabethan Club. Mr. Sassoon lectured on the subject "Modern Poets in the War," and read selections from his verse. Mr. Sassoon is one of a number of poets and novelists who have recently been entertained at the club. Among other distinguished guests during the winter

have been John Drinkwater, William Butler Yeats, Vachel Lindsay, Lord Dunsany, and Hugh Walpole.

Bowl Completion Fund

The Athletic Association has extended the time for subscribing to the Bowl Completion Fund to April 1, 1920. The amount subscribed is not yet sufficient to warrant the carrying out of the proposed improvements although the response has been on the whole enthusiastic. The engineer's plans are not yet completed and the committee will not know until April 1st just what the amount needed will be. It has therefore seemed wise to accept subscriptions until that date. No drive is being made. If the alternation until that date. is being made. If the alumni in sufficient numbers desire to take advantage of this offer, the Bowl will be completed, otherwise not.

One or two points have not been altogether clear and a summary of the proposals of the committee may be of help to alumni considering the matter.

Any alumnus, regardless of other subscription, may subscribe for ten-year privileges to the annual out-of-town championship game, consisting of the right to apply for not more than ten preferred seats at the rate of \$100 per seat.

Any alumnus, not a previous subscriber, may acquire similar rights for the home game each year for ten years at the same rate.

Any "old subscriber" may increase his rights for the home game up to a total of ten at the rate of \$100 per seat.

Any "old subscriber" may extend his original rights four years (so as to coincide in time with new subscription) at the rate of \$25 a seat.

University Calendar

FRIDAY, MARCH 19

 Third Students' Organ Recital. Woolsey Hall, 4:00 P. M.
 Twelfth Annual Intercollegiate Triangular Debate. Harvard vs. Yale. Question: Resolved, That Congress should enact all legislation necessary to suppress propaganda having for its purpose the overthrow of the government of the United States. Woolsey Hall, 8:00 P. M.—Meeting of the Yale Branch of the American Institute of

Electrical Engineers with lecture by Mr. Charles Ruffus Harte, Construction Engineer of The Connecticut Company, on Power Transmission Lines. (Illustrated.) Dunham Laboratory of Electrical Engineering, 8:00 P. M.

SUNDAY, MARCH 21

-Public Worship. John R. Mott, LL.D., of New York City. Battell Chapel, II: 00 A. M.

Monday, March 22

-Third Trowbridge Lecture. School of the Fine Arts, 5:00 P. M.

TUESDAY, MARCH 23

-Lecture by Professor Phelps. Fitch. Sprague Memorial

Hall, 4: 15 P. M.

—Third Lecture on the Bergen Foundation by St. John Ervine. Sprague Memorial Hall, 8:00 P. M.

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 24

-Phi Beta Kappa Lecture by Professor Phelps. Room II, Lampson Hall, 7:00 P. M.

THURSDAY, MARCH 25

-History of Science Lecture on Chemistry by Professor John Johnston. Lampson Lyceum, 8:00 P. M.

FRIDAY, MARCH 26

-Recital by Students of the School of Music. Sprague Memorial Hall, 4:00 P. M.