Sault Ste. Marie—Media ownership is mainly independent, although two of the radio stations are controlled by Greco, a small group which also owns radio stations at Blind River and Elliot Lake.

Brantford—The newspaper and two radio stations are independent.

Kingston—The Davies family owns the Whig-Standard, and used to have interests in two of the six radio stations and the TV station, but these broadcast holdings were sold to Bushnell Communications Limited in July, 1970.

Niagara Falls—The daily newspaper and the radio station are independently and separately owned.

Sarnia—Thomson owns the newspaper. The two radio stations are separately owned.

Peterborough—Thomson owns the Examiner. CHUM and Ralph Snelgrove share control of one radio station. Bushnell controls the other radio station and the TV station.

Guelph—The daily Mercury is owned by Thomson, and the one radio station is independently owned.

Oakville—Toronto Star Limited owns the Daily Journal-Record, and the radio station is independently owned. Bassett-Eaton interests own the weekly Oakville Beaver.

Thunder Bay—Thomson owns the News-Chronicle and the Times-Journal. The Dougall group owns the city's only TV station and two of its four radio stations.

In the province, groups account for 57.6 per cent of the total TV audience.

QUEBEC

Of Quebec's 14 daily newspapers, nine are group-owned, four by the Desmarais group. Two dailies are published by the Péladeau group. The other group-owned dailies are the Montreal Star, the Southam-owned Montreal Gazette, and the Thomson-owned Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph. Some 29 of the province's 41 radio stations in the surveyed communities are group-owned, including seven by Télémédia (Québec) Limitée, controlled by Philippe de Gaspé Beaubien, five by Crépault, three by a combination of Baribeau-Pratte interests, two each by Standard Broadcasting, Stirling, Tietolman, and Bushnell, one by the Desmarais group, and one by a combination of Baribeau and the Lepage Société. There are only six independent radio stations, the remaining six being owned by the CBC. Eleven of Quebec's 17 TV stations are are controlled by groups, including Télémédia's two stations in Sherbrooke and Rimouski. Desmarais has a minority interest in the

II OWNERSHIP 25